Today’s post is an experiment for my art work, showing my attempts on photography, drawing and digital art. 

The process was done by using the photograph as a visual guide for drawing, trying to create an accurate drawing as possible from visual reference. Whilst the grid method would be more reliable for accuracy, instead I used freehanded attempt at drawing to improve my skills and techniques.

Original photograph taken at the Lincolnshire Life Museum.Drawing using graphite pencils, based on the photograph above.

Next, I took a picture of the drawing, and loaded it onto Procreate app to use the digital art tools. Making layers of applications over the photograph of the drawing, using basic colours as the base layer of the picture. This was then gradually built up with lighter colours, until I felt satisfied with the layer outcome.

Once done, I then used the blend tool to create smooth transitions from light and dark areas, creating a seamless blends of colours. Finally, after cleaning up areas and adjusting any mistakes, the digital art was then saved in its final outcome to be filtered. 

Original none filtered outcome
Filtered final outcome

Final thoughts 

Having tried out this experiment with no expections on what the final outcome would look like, I was impressed with the new skills and techniques I’ve learnt from this task. I’ve found using one of my own photographs as a guideline for drawing has really helped me to draw near-realistic imagery. 

The digital art process has also been a fun tool for experimenting my digital art skills. learning how to make smoother blends of light and dark areas, and building layers colours for skin.

Areas that I will need to improve on is proportion to the face, as the length of the the nose is too long compared to the image (although I didn’t change it at the time because I  though it looked fine). Also, I’ll need to improve on drawing ears, because the design of the ears in the final outcome look out of place now that I’m judging this piece.

_______________________________

Thank you for reading this post. If you have any questions, post a comment below and I’ll reply back as soon as I can. Thnaks!

– Bjorn

Leave a Reply

