For quite a few months now since February, I’ve been working on my Inquisition warband and my Black Templars army. However, recently a lot of my focus has been towards my Khorne allied army for AoS games and Path to glory. After playing Khorne Bloodbound during my last game in February, I’ve been inspired to build and grow this army to a 2,000pt force. 

The last time I’ve mentioned about this collection was way back in February where I showed off my Khorgorath (which was painted in a complex tonal shade changes for the skin). Since then, the force has been swollen with new units including a unit of Bloodletters, Flesh Hounds, Skull Canon and extra Blood Warriors. As of typing this post, I’ve nearly painted half of my Khorne collection already in matter of three months (but not the Bloodreavers, that’s gonna be a grinding challenge for me -.-)

Anyway, I thinks about time I’ll show you guys what I’ve done so far, I hope you enjoy part 1!

Avkar Skorvax
First up the leader of the warband, Avkar Skorvax, a might lord of Khorne who’s leading his warband under the banner of The Axes of Skarbrand. I’m currently planning on his lore backstory, but I plan for him to have ties in with Hexters origin in a big way. 

I really like how the model looks overall with my homebrew colour pallet. The silver armour is one of my favourite painting applications to the model, it has a matt finish that retains the silver basecoat. 

Skull Canon
This model has just recently been completed on Monday this week, a record of only two days of painting this monstrosity! The model is a useful artillery weapon used by the Daemons of Khorne to fire skulls at the opponents regiments with fire and fury!

The kit had two options for the skull canon or the Blood throne, I’ve chosen the former because I really needed some fire power against units of 10+ (especially against the undead legions from the Sandheart Dynasty, they have a lot of crypt ghouls in their arsenal). Just looking at this model gives me the chills just seeing it’s bloody trail from it’s last challenger…..

Bloodletters of Khorne
Finally, we’ve come to the bread and warp crumbs of Khorne’s legion, the Bloodletters of Khorne. I really like how the unit looks alive and hungry for battle, like an incoming tide of red rage. I’ve personally liked how the flaming sword effect looks, it’s a pretty cool painting technique that doesn’t require too much skill to achieve (if your interested in painting the same effect, post a comment below if you would like to know about how the process was done).

These were my first attempt at painting the Daemons of Khorne for my allied army. My painting focus for the unit was ‘contrast’, this is because I wanted to really flesh out the look of the Daemons with bright warm colours against dark cold colours (For example, the blue tongues work really well against the red skin). 

That’s all for now, however there will be more to come next Saturday in part 2. I hope to see you again next week!  🙂

____________________________________

If you have any questions, post a comment below and I’ll reply back as soon as I can. Thanks!

I hope you guys have a fantastic day,

-Bjorndovah

2 thoughts on “[WIP] Khorne Bloodbound, The Axes of Skarbrand: progress so far (part 1 of 2)

Leave a Reply

