Happy 40th White Dwarf!!

(I know I’m slightly late but trust me, this post has a justified reason! πŸ˜‰ )

As you all might of known white dwarf has now turned 40, that’s a big achievement for the magazines success. The magazine has been an important source for great table top hobby content, as well as seeing the wider community’s contributions to the hobby. For me it has become an essential purchase every month, as each issue has always something new to show.

How I found out about White Dwarf?

If it wasn’t for my choice to pick up February 2009 issue of White Dwarf at my local newsagents, I would have been into hobby today. It was by some weird fate that I randomly picked up the magazine issue without any prior knowledge on what it was about. To this day I still have my first issue of White Dwarf, which says a lot for my continued enthusiasm for the hobby. It’s changed my life towards having aspirations to become an artist, a passion that I still strongly believe in thanks to White Dwarf for inspiring me.

A Carboot sale with a twist!

Strangely enough though, today I was looking around a car boot sale when I happen upon a random selection of old White Dwarf magazines! (Sadly a few were in bad condition, and I couldn’t buy them all so I only chosen a few that were worth buying). 

As you can probably tell, a few of these magazine issues are historically important, spanning from the two global campaign issues, 5th edition of Warhammer and of course the Third war for Armegeddon. 

These issues of White Dwarf are quite sentimental for me, as I really enjoy reading old content before my time in the hobby. My personal favourite from the five would be the last one (at the back of the pile), that was an interesting issue, especially the rules and kit bash models for Slannesh/Dark Elves. 

I really appreciated how much has changed since my first issue of White Dwarf, the hobby seems to be getting better and better with each new incarnation of the magazine. Many other publications that I’ve read other than the former have either been discontinued or gotten boring. But I can honestly say without a doubt that White Dwarf is still my favourite magazine to read.

Happy 40th anniversary White Dwarf!!! πŸ™‚ πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

_____________________________________

I hope you have enjoyed this special post today. If you have any questions, post a comment below and I’ll reply back as soon as I can. Thank you!

Have a great day today,

-Bjorndovah

2 thoughts on “Happy 40th White Dwarf!!

Leave a Reply

