“If there’s one thing about Khorne’s Bloodreavers that I’ve come to realise, is that they really need to wear some decent winter coats. Probably because their so warm blooded by their curse, that they’ve forgotten that they themselves are cold blooded in reality…….”.

– Brother Gregor of the chapel of Sigmar, wearing his thermal bright yellow robes before losing it to a Reaver champion.

Hello, and welcome back to another AoS collection post. Today I wanted to show how my Khorne Bloodbound (part of my combined Chaos Grand Alliance) collection is going so far. As well as an off topic end subject on a book that I’ve been reading lately.

It’s flakey business

First off, we have a full unit of 25 Blood Reavers as the backbone of the army. So far so good, but painting twenty five models is going to be a stretch considering my enthusiasm for painting big units is lackluster.

  My recent game of AoS had my Warlord in a sticky situation, staying at the sidelines as a backup didn’t sit well for him. It bored Khorne so much that he left my General to be bested by a tomb king. No worthy skulls for the skull throne that day…..

One of my favourite models from the range, the Bloodsecrator was the most effective model in my collection when it came to thursdays battle.

This model might not be part of the collection for future games, as the baseing and colour scheme is going to be different from this model. So he might be used for Warhammer Quest, or just as a centrepiece once I’ve brought another priest.

In all honesty, I prefer the Blood Warrior models from the starter set rather than the models in 10x unit kit box. The designs looks less cartoony than the current set kit, looking more grim and close to their lore description as heartless savages. 

As you can see from the photo, I’ve made my own banner man (who might have a big lore role in the future), kit bashing it from space wolves, Plauge monks, Cold one Knights and tank bitz.

Fantasy from the labyrinth

Currently I’ve been reading a few books during my spare time, one such book in particular that I’ve really enjoyed reading was ‘The Warhound and the Worlds Pain’.

For those who don’t know about this book, it was written by Michel Moorcock who has written a few Sci-Fi and fantasy books in his career. I won’t give the story synopsis due to copyright and spoilers, so you’ll have to research that part yourselves. However, the story’s theme revolves around the concept of being your own master, not Bowing down to gods/deitys to control your destiny. 

Who knew that going to a second hand book shop in an antique buissness area would be a source of thousands of old second hand Sci-Fi/Fantasy books (and old DC/ Marvel comics too!). I’ve really enjoyed this book so far, the story, setting and characters are impressively structured by the author. So much so, that it’s firmly got a place in my top 20 books of all time.

_________________________

Hope you guys have enjoyed the post. If you have any questions, post a comment below and I’ll reply back as soon as I can. Thanks!

Hope you all have a great day,

-Bjorndovah

Leave a Reply

