Making plans for a new collection: The Liverbone court 

Today I’ve finalised my plans on how to build up my Ghoul army, which took longer than expected, but worth the wait. So a while back I mentioned that I’ve started to move on from building my skaven army, as I felt happy with the amount I’ve collected to play the army. With a full chaos army ready to play, I wanted to focus on building my next army collection from the death alligence. Out of a few that was available, I’ve chosen the Flesh-eater courts as my next army project.

Why collect ghouls you may be asking? Well, I’m fondly into Ghouls from different representations in fiction, including Tokyo Ghoul, Until Dawn and of course Warhammer fantasy battles. I really like how ghouls are represented as delusional, wretched and sadistic flesh eating cannibals (depending on which fictional lore you read on for ghouls).

The aim for this collection is simple, to build up a decent sized army at a cap of 1,000pt vanguard army. It must include a Abhorrent ghoul king on a Terrgheist, and at least one courtier in the army.

Below is my list of what I’ll be using for the army (bearing in mind that not all of the units will fit into the 1,000pt [+500pt summon reserve points] gap. But are instead be used as summon units, or as changeable units on new army list).

  • 1x Abhorrent Ghoul king on Terrorgheist
  • 1x Crypt Ghoul Courtier
  • 3x Crypt horrors
  • 3x Crypt horrors
  • 1x Crypt Haunter Coutier 
  • 20x Crypt Ghouls
  • 20x Crypt Ghouls
  • 20x Crypt Ghouls
  • 2x zombie dragon
  • 1x Terrorgheist 
  • 3x Abhorrent Ghoul kings (on foot)
  • 3x Crypt Flayers
  • 3x Crypt Flayers
  • 3x Crypt Flayers
  • 1x Crypt Infernal Courtier

The process for collecting this army will be slow, mainly because there’s quite a lot of models to collect from the army list. However, I have a devious plan on how to quicken this process ;).

You see, the main back bone of the army is the Crypt Ghouls, weak in defence but great at being meat shields for the Ghoul king. I need at least three units to get a really good horde of ghouls, but currently I don’t want to grind through buying three boxes of Crypt Ghouls. Until an unholy idea formed in my head, why don’t I use my clan rats as Crypt ghouls instead? (Que the trumpets!)

Indeed, using Clan rats as Crypt ghouls would be an awesome way for me to add variety on different races that have been befallen by the Abhorrent Ghoul king. But why stop there, when you can get a kit of six Ogres, and kit bash them to be two separate units of three Crypt Horrors. With these little changes, I can build up a court that’s not only racially mixed species, but also having  unique culture asthetic design for the army.

Finally though, I would be interested to hear what your suggestions are, and what your ideas for your own Ghoul army. If you want to suggest your ideas, post a comment below and I’ll reply back as soon as I can. Thank you!

2 thoughts on “Making plans for a new collection: The Liverbone court 

    1. Thanks! The rats will be kit bashed with some Ghoul arms, so that they look as though their reaching out to claim their enemy as their meal. Hopefully I’ll have enough willpower to paint a horde of 40 rats.

      Like

Leave a Reply

