Today I’ve been on a trip to Dodington Hall, to see their outside exhibition event for various artists sculptor creations. I took quite a lot of photos of the plethora of sculpts, all exhibit pieces ranging from different materials and mediums.

The sculptures evok inner emotions from the way they are expressed by form, shape and size. Some will appear as humonoid statues that are shaped to look fractured or formed in curvature or cuboid form.

 For example, the picture above is what appears to be a factured face that looks calm in appearance. However I see it as a physical manifestation in form of a self portrait, showing the creators emotion made in sculpt form.

Another thing to keep in mind is that not all sculptures are obvious or a ‘right’ answer as to what it represents. Many pieces are made to have no real significant indication as to what it signifies or represents in context. So it’s open to many interpretations for everyone to express their thoughts.

This piece above shows no emotional expression to suggest what it’s purpose is. So I see it as a symbol of a wave of red squares, as though the sea was a red tide that’s constantly rising and falling. You may have a different interpretation of what this piece may represent, which isn’t a right or wrong answer, it’s how you express what you see that matters.

Below is what I’ve taken photos of during the trip, each photo shows different creative styles and material. enjoy!


I’ve not only taken pictures of sculptures in both size and form, but also took some close up picture of a few sculpts for their texture and patterns. This will help me to refer them as a guid line, should I want to use that texture to practise sketch in texture projects.


From this trip I’ve learnt several things from what was displayed at the exhibition:

  1. First of all, I’ve learnt that some sculptures don’t necessarily need to have a noticeable design feature to be noticed, some pieces actually try to be formed in different and unusual ways to draw crowds to the creation.
  2. Different textures can improve the designs appearance, for example a rough wavey texture on a sphere object can make it look more rough, and less smooth in appearance. This way, the object will look more rougher for the formed creation, making it less smooth and shiny on the surface.
  3. Some designs don’t require a hefty load of details to stand out, as its simplified form can be an original creative expression of artistic inspiration. For example, it can be a simple pottery object with colourful pattern, or even a sphere with a section removed from its form.

From what I’ve learnt, I can use these reminders as creative influence that can help me to improve on my texture, shape, size and form in my art work. By comparing all the sculptures to their essence of representation, to their material medium form, I can then see what makes a sculpture defined by its cultural contex and representation.

Learning from this, I can plan out my own designs that can incorparate design features that I want to practice on, and evolve during my development stages of drawing.
I hope you have enjoyed this subject of the week. If you have any questions, post a comment below and I’ll reply back as soon as I can. Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

